Harlequin for Libraries

Harlequin for Libraries

Category: Teen

For fans of STATION ELEVEN and THE ROAD, Alison’ Stine’s Road Out of Winter [Sept. 1, MIRA] is an apocalyptic novel about a young marijuana grower who, in an endless winter, is forced to travel the dangerous backroads of Appalachia in search of family and a new way to survive. Says Library Journal of the book in their starred review: ⭐“Stine blends a rural thriller and speculative realism into what (read more…)

Our ideal TLA dinner pairing? A meal at Houston’s Beard Award-winning Oaxacan restaurant Xochi, and a chance to meet YA author Adi Alsaid, who has penned the starred-reviewed novel WE DIDN’T ASK FOR THIS [Inkyard Press, April 2020]. But since we couldn’t make it out to Houston, we decided to bring Xochi and Adi to you. See below for a round-up of recipes from Xochi for the more gifted culinarians (read more…)

Out Now cover

The short story collection ALL OUT: THE NO-LONGER-SECRET STORIES OF QUEER TEENS THROUGHOUT THE AGES is the critically acclaimed anthology edited by author Saundra Mitchell, featuring diverse historical fiction by 17 celebrated YA authors. Now she’s back with OUT NOW: QUEER WE GO AGAIN! [Inkyard Press, May 2020] and this time she’s rounded up a new posse of queer YA authors you know and love to present 17 new contemporary (read more…)

Adi Alsaid’s latest novel, WE DIDN’T ASK FOR THIS [Inkyard Press, April 2020], opens with an annual high school lock-in legendary for changing lives. But this time, thanks to a group of eco-warrior students, it just might end up changing the world too. In this Q&A with Monica Phillips from the North Richland Hills Library, the author talks climate change, teens and social action, and “sad white boy music.” Q: (read more…)

Beloved YA author Adi Alsaid is back with WE DIDN’T ASK FOR THIS [Inkyard Press, April 7], a timely novel for the earth-lovers in all of us. Meet the students of the elite Central International School (Go sea cucumbers!): every year, they wait with great anticipation for the school’s legendary annual lock-in. But little do they know, any plans of glory are about to be disrupted by a small group (read more…)