Harlequin for Libraries

Harlequin for Libraries

Category: Fiction

For fans of STATION ELEVEN and THE ROAD, Alison’ Stine’s Road Out of Winter [Sept. 1, MIRA] is an apocalyptic novel about a young marijuana grower who, in an endless winter, is forced to travel the dangerous backroads of Appalachia in search of family and a new way to survive. Says Library Journal of the book in their starred review: ⭐“Stine blends a rural thriller and speculative realism into what (read more…)

For a temporary reprieve from the summer heat, how about cozying up with a cozy mystery by John Banville (also known in the crime fiction world as Benjamin Black)? The incomparable Booker Prize winner’s next great crime novel, SNOW [Oct. 6, Hanover Square Press] is the story of an aristocratic family whose secrets resurface when a parish priest is found murdered in their home. Snow is a classic procedural mystery, perfect (read more…)

The Dazzling Truth cover

The Dazzling Truth [Graydon House, August 2020], Hellen Cullen’s poignant novel chronicling an Irish family’s saga across three decades, has been described as “a love letter to family and to the arts” by Maggie Smith, author of Good Bones. It has also earned an incredible starred review from Library Journal, which says: “Perfectly drawn by Cullen (The Lost Letters of William Woolf), an Irish author living in London, whose time (read more…)

How are creatives staying inspired this season while doing their part staying at home? L&L thought they’d check in on their fantastic authors to find out! Let’s visit the tropical and majestic coasts of Hawaii to say hello to native Sara Ackerman. Her forthcoming novel RED SKY OVER HAWAII (June 9, 2020; MIRA Books), the third of her WWII books set against the backdrop of the Hawaiian islands, “skillfully navigates the (read more…)

How are creatives staying inspired this season while doing their part staying at home? L&L thought they’d check in on their fantastic authors to find out! This week we fly to Brooklyn to drop in on Natalka Burian, author of  the powerful and lyrical novel, DAUGHTERS OF THE WILD (September 22, Park Row Books), about a young girl in a dystopian society fighting to save her lost child while discovering (read more…)